Myths and legends

Myths and legends >> Panch Pockari

In the Langtang region, at an altitude of about 4200 meters above sea level, there is one of the highest mountain lake-bog systems: Panch Pokhari. Actually, the very name of the place, translated from Nepali, means "Five Lakes". Here, in a small plato, like on a balcony, above a deep gorge, there are five lakes, from which the Indravati River begins. Like many other Nepalese rivers, Indravati is part of the watershed of the sacred Ganges.

This is a stunningly beautiful place: the sky and mountains are reflected in the mirror surface of the water, and the gorge filled with clouds creates the feeling that the lake system itself is floating in the air ...

Panch Pokhari is considered one of the most important pilgrimage sites for Hindus. There is a small temple of Shiva, next to which the Hindus take ablutions. It is believed that Shiva fasted here for five nights, taking bath in five ponds of water.

It is said that a couple of thousand years ago, the hunter Bumba Ruva Waiba went to these places for prey. Catching nothing, he was about to go home when he noticed a strange bird that had a stripe around its neck, like a white collar. The bird seemed to be calling for it. In pursuit of the bird, Bumba climbed higher and higher into the mountains until he found himself near the Panch Pokhari lakes. And suddenly he saw people next to the lakes who were planting rice (according to another version, they were threshing already harvested rice). But when Bumba came closer, people suddenly disappeared. But in one of the disappearing images, the hunter managed to see God Mahadeva.

Since then, pilgrims have come to the shores of the lake at Panch Pokhkari to look for the grains of this divine harvest (and it is said that some still find rice in the marshy soil). Local farmers come here to ask Mahadeva for a harvest and protection from bad weather.

Local people, Tamangs, have their own view of Panch Pokhari. According to one of the local legends, a shaman drown in the "Serpent Lake", who challenged the snake demon (Nag) of this lake. And in another larger lake, there is a ghost town that only shamans can visit.

 


No comments


Write to us!

We are waiting for your questions and ideas

Write to us

Follow our project

in social networks

YouTube Telegram FB VK RSS

English

Мифы и легенды

Мифы и легенды >> Панч Покхари

В районе Лангтанг на высоте около 4200 метров над уровнем моря расположена одна из самых высокогорных озерно-болотных систем: Панч Покхари. Собственно, само название места в переводе с непальского означает «Пять озер». Здесь в небольшой ложбине, как на балконе, над глубоким ущельем расположены пять озер, из которых берет начало река Индравати. Как и многие другие непальские реки, Индравати входит в систему водосбора священного Ганга.

Это потрясающе красивое место: в зеркальной глади воды отражается небо и горы, а заполненное облаками ущелье создает ощущение, что система озер сама парит в воздухе...

Панч Покхари считается одним из важнейших мест паломничества индуистов. Здесь расположен небольшой храм Шивы, рядом с которым индуисты совершают омовения. Считается, что Шива постился здесь пять ночей, совершив омовения в пяти водоемах.

Говорят, что пару тысяч лет назад охотник Бумба Рува Ваиба отправился за добычей в эти места. Ничего не поймав, он уже собирался домой, как заметил странную птицу у которой на шее была полоса, похожая на белый ошейник. Птица как будто бы звала за собой. В погоне за птицей Бумба взбирался все выше в горы, пока не оказался около озер Панч Покхари. И неожиданно он увидел рядом с озерами людей которые сажали рис (по другой версии, они молотили уже собранный рис). Но когда Бумба подошел поближе, люди вдруг исчезли. Но в одном из исчезающих образов охотник успел разглядеть Бога Махадеву.

С тех пор паломники приходят на берег озера в Панч Похкари, чтобы поискать зерна этого божественного урожая (и говорят, что некоторые до сих пор находят рисинки в болотистой почве). Местные фермеры приходят сюда чтобы попросить Махадеву об урожае и о защите от ненастья.

У местных жителей, тамангов, свой взгляд на Панч Покхари. Согласно одной из местных легенд, в «Змеином озере» погиб шаман, бросивший вызов змеиному демону этого озера. А в другом озере, большего размера, находится призрачный город, который могут посетить только шаманы.

 


Комментариев нет


Свяжитесь с нами!

Ждем ваших идей и вопросов 

Написать

Следите за развитием

проекта в соцсетях

YouTube Telegram FB VK RSS