Myths and legends

Myths and legends >> Gosainkund legend

In the multidimensional Hindu cosmology, there are beings who, as it were, occupy an intermediate position between gods and humans. These are demigods (devas) and demons (asuras). They are much more powerful than people, but nevertheless they are significantly inferior to the gods. 

Devas and asuras have been at enmity since ancient times. And one day, the asuras prevailed in a great battle with the devas and seized the supremacy in the universe. The devas did not accept defeat and turned with a prayer to Vishnu, who offered to settle the differences between the devas and the asuras according to the principle of Matroskin the cat: "together at work - it unites."

Vishnu told the devas that if you thoroughly beat the cosmic milky ocean, you can get the elixir of immortality. But, since this process is very laborious, it's necessary to join forces with the asuras, and this will help establish peace in the universe. The idea seemed interesting to both contracting parties and they got down to work.

For whipping (or "churning") the world's ocean, the devas and asuras decided to use Mandara Mountain as a huge whorl. They placed the mountain on the back of the giant turtle Kurma and wrapped Vasuki's serpent around the mountain to spin it. The devas pulled the snake by the tail, and the asuras by the head, the mountain revolved and churned the ocean.

However, instead of elixir, a terrible poison first appeared on the surface of the ocean, which could poison the entire universe. Frightened devas and asuras ran with entreaties to Shiva, who drank this terrible poison to save the universe.

After the poison problem was resolved, the devas and asuras continued to whip up the world's oceans. After a while, various treasures began to appear on the surface of the ocean, which they divided equally. And finally, the god of medicine Dhavantari came out of the ocean with a pot of amrita - the elixir of immortality. A fight ensued, in which the asuras defeated again. And they took all the amrita for themselves.

However, Vishnu, taking the form of the beautiful girl Mohini, stole the amrita from the asuras and gave the elixir to the devas. Only one of the asuras managed to secretly take a sip of amrita, assuming the form of a deva. But the gods of the Sun and Moon recognized him and cut off his head before the demon had time to swallow the drink. Having tasted the amrita, the devas were finally able to defeat the asuras.

But let's go back a little. When the powerful Shiva drank the poison, he felt somehow bad. His body turned blue and he was tormented by a terrible thirst. To get water, Shiva struck the ground with his trident, and Gosaykunda lakes with the purest water appeared at the place of impact. These lakes are located in Nepal, in the Langtang region.

Trishuli River originates from the Gosykunda lakes, the name of which is similar to the name of Shiva's trident - Trishula. Not far from the border with India, Trisuli flows into the Gandak River, which originates in the Mustang. 

 


No comments


Write to us!

We are waiting for your questions and ideas

Write to us

Follow our project

in social networks

YouTube Telegram FB VK RSS

English

Мифы и легенды

Мифы и легенды >> Легенда о появлении озер Госаинкунда

В многомерной индуистской космологии есть существа, занимающие как бы промежуточное положение между богами и людьми. Это полубоги (дэвы) и демоны (асуры). Они намного более могущественны, нежели люди, но тем не менее существенно уступают богам. 

Дэвы и асуры издревле враждовали. И однажды, асуры одержали верх в великой битве с дэвами и захватили главенство во вселенной. Дэвы не смирились с поражением и обратились с мольбой к Вишну, который предложил урегулировать разногласия между девами и асурами по принципу кота Матроскина: «совместный труд — он объединяет».

Вишну рассказал дэвам, что если хорошенько взбить космический молочный океан, то можно добыть элексир бессмертия. Но, поскольку этот процесс весьма трудоемкий, то придется объединить свои усилия с асурами, и это поможет установить мир во вселенной. Идея показалась интересной обеим договаривающимся сторонам и они принялись за дело.

Для взбивания (или «пахтания») мирового океана в качестве огромной мутовки девы и асуры решили использовать гору Мандара. Они установили гору на спину гигантской черепахи Курмы, а чтобы привести ее во вращение обмотали гору змеем Васуки. Дэвы тянули змея за хвост, а асуры за голову, гора вращалась и взбивала океан.

Однако, вместо элексира на поверхности океана сначала появился страшный яд, который мог отравить всю вселенную. Испуганные дэвы и асуры побежали с мольбами к Шиве, который ради спасения вселенной выпил этот страшный яд.

После того, как проблема с ядом была решена, дэвы и асуры продолжили взбивать мировой океан. Через некоторое время на поверхности океана стали появляться различные сокровища, которые они поделили поровну. И, наконец, из океана вышел бог медицины Дхавантари с горшком амриты — элексира бессмертия. Завязалась драка, в которой снова победили асуры. И они забрали всю амриту себе.

Однако, Вишну, приняв форму прекрасной девушки Мохини, выкрал амриту у асуров и отдал элексир дэвам. Лишь один из асуров сумел тайком сделать глоток амриты, приняв облик дэва. Но боги Солнца и Луны узнали его и отрубили ему голову раньше, чем демон успел проглотить напиток. Отведавшие амриты дэвы смогли, наконец, одержать победу над асурами.

Но вернемся немного назад. Когда могущественный Шива выпил яд, он почувствовал себя как-то плохо. Его тело приобрело синий оттенок и его стала мучить жуткая жажда. Чтобы добыть воды Шива ударил в землю своим трезубцем и в месте удара появились озера Госайкунда с чистейшей водой. Эти озера находятся на территории Непала, в районе Лангтанг.

Из озер Госйкунда берет начало река Тришули, название которой перекликается с названием трезубца Шивы — Тришула. Недалеко от границы с Индией Трисули впадает в реку Гандак, берущую свое начало в Мустанге. 

 


Комментариев нет


Свяжитесь с нами!

Ждем ваших идей и вопросов 

Написать

Следите за развитием

проекта в соцсетях

YouTube Telegram FB VK RSS